In Srinagar, five new areas declared Covid-19 ‘containment zones’

In Srinagar, five new areas declared Covid-19 ‘containment zones’

Srinagar: Srinagar District Administration on Monday evening declared five more localities of Srinagar city as “micro-containment zones” following a sharp rise in covid-19 cases.

District Development Commissioner tweeted on Monday evening informing that five more localities of Srinagar have been declared as containment zones. These localities as per KNT are Batamaloo, Nishat, Baghaat, Noorbagh and Aloochibagh.

Earlier, Khanyar, Meerakabad Shalimar, Hyder Colony Kill Khan Gali Upper Soura, Buchpora Firdous Colony in Zadibal, Gazaliabad Lane No. 01 HMT, and Shahanwar Colony Lane 02 in Batamaloo were designated as Covid-19 containment zones in order to curb the spread of the Covid-19 virus.

In the last three weeks, the number of covid-19 positive cases in Kashmir valley has increased tenfold, indicating a worrying trend. Pertinently, 2135 new positive cases of novel Corona virus (COVID-19), 791 from Jammu division and 1344 from Kashmir division, were reported on Monday, thus taking the total number of positive cases in Jammu and Kashmir to 162890. Also 25 COVID-19 deaths have been reported, 14 from Jammu Division and 11 from Kashmir Division. (KNT)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.