Mitchell Marsh named captain for West Indies T20Is

Mitchell Marsh named captain for West Indies T20Is

Mitchell Marsh has been named captain of a 14-member Australia squad that’ll face West Indies in a forthcoming three-match T20I series. The 32-year-old all-rounder takes over the reins of the side having previously done so away in South Africa in August-September last year.

While Cricket Australia are yet to confirm who’ll lead the side at the T20 World Cup later this year, Marsh’s appointment here should make him one of the contenders. Incidentally, Matthew Wade had led the side in the series against India straight after the World Cup.

Pat Cummins, another captaincy candidate, has been rested for this series along with Mitchell Starc with both fast bowlers being managed for the series due to ‘ongoing minor physical issues’. They are expected to return for the series against New Zealand which will mark Australia’s last T20 assignment before the World Cup.

Also missing from the squad is senior batter Steve Smith, who has been rested after being trialled as an opener in that series against India. Matt Short, who scored 541 runs in the Big Bash League this season, will be expected to open the batting with David Warner, who remains active in this format.

Glenn Maxwell and pace bowler Nathan Ellis also return to the squad after being rested for the ODIs. The squad will assemble on February 7 two days before the opening game in Hobart.

Australia T20I squad vs West Indies: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

© Cricbuzz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.